The National SQP Awards 2020 to be held virtually

This year’s National SQP Awards is going virtual on November 5, to reward and recognise the achievements of the UK’s SQPs.

Simon Lewis, group managing director of Lewis Business Media, the publisher of OvertheCounter, said the decision to make this year’s National SQP Awards 2020 virtual was in response to the Government guidelines and advice surrounding the coronavirus pandemic.

Mr Lewis said: “While we are obviously disappointed that we will not be able to bring the industry together in person, we are excited to be able to deliver the National SQP Awards in a different format, on November 5, the same date as the original event was planned.”

After a highly successful event in 2019, this year’s awards programme was popular again with SQPs from across the UK and the virtual judging session, held earlier this month, saw many deliberations.

The quality of entries was at an all-time high and it was great to receive more entries in every category, which is a testament to how important the awards are among SQPs.

SQPs this year certainly proved that they want to be recognised at the National SQP Awards.

Judges praised entries that detailed the COVID-19 measures that have been put in place in businesses across across the UK – and a theme running through some of the entries was around how SQPs are partnering with their local vets to offer a complete service to clients.

For details of this year’s National SQP Awards, look on the OvertheCounter website and the magazine’s social media channels.

We will publish profiles of all the finalists in the November issue of OvertheCounter.

Finalists for the 2020 National SQP Awards

Companion SQP of the Year (sponsored by Frontline)
Cerrie Hedges, TFM Countrystore, Whisby
Michael Maddison, Pets at Home, Stockport

Farm SQP of the Year (sponsored by Elanco)
Gillian Smeaton, East of Scotland Farmers, Coupar Angus
Stefanie Willey, Mole Country Stores, Hexham

Nutritional Expertise Award (sponsored by Bimeda)
Sarah Ferguson, Tarff Valley, Whauphill
Sarah Sparke, J S Hubbuck, Hexham 

Mastermind Award (sponsored by Harper Adams University)
Sarah Brooks, Wynnstay Group, Llansantffraid
Charlotte Forkes-Rees, Mole Country Stores, Berkeley 

Newly Qualified SQP of the Year (sponsored by MSD)
Jane Moorhouse, Hird & Partners, Halifax
Emma Parkinson, Bimeda Animal Health, Anglesey

Veterinary Practice SQP of the Year
Lynn MacArthur, Conanvet, Conon Bridge
Laura Smith, Vale Veterinary Group, Cullompton

Equine SQP of the Year
Alexandra Bradley, TFM Countrystore, Whisby
Charlotte Forkes-Rees, Mole Country Stores, Berkeley

Independent Store of the Year
East of Scotland Farmers, Coupar Angus
Green Farm Supplies, Thirsk

Multiple Store of the Year
Mole Country Stores, Hexham
Pets at Home, York

Outstanding Customer Service Award
Stephen Belgrau, The Pet Joint, Denbigh
Kristy Hodgson, Westgate Labs, Morpeth

Store Manager of the Year
Ruth Dolman, Mole Country Stores, Fauld
Catherine Johnson, Carrs Billington, Hexham

National SQP of the Year, taken from the winners of the Companion, Farm, Equine and Veterinary Practice SQP of the Year titles, is sponsored by our principal sponsor, Boehringer Ingelheim, and will announced during the virtual event.

We will also announce the winner of the Outstanding Contribution to the Industry award during the virtual event.

Get Our E-Newsletter - breaking news to your in-box once a week
Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy