Meet the finalists of the National SQP Awards 2019

The judging for this year’s National SQP Awards is now complete and after difficult deliberations, the judges are delighted to have decided upon the shortlisted finalists in each category.

This year’s National SQP Awards gala lunch will take place in London on November 7 and will recognise the very best that our industry has to offer when it comes to using the SQP qualification and interacting with customers.

This was a record-breaking year for the National SQP Awards in terms of the number of entries received, which shows that there was plenty of interest from SQPs across the UK.

John Lewis, chairman of Lewis Business Media, the organiser of the National SQP Awards, and chairman of the judging panel, said he was delighted by not only the record number of entries received, but also by the quality of entries, which highlighted the effort that SQPs put into providing the relevant information.

Mr Lewis said: “It’s been hard work, but a pleasure for the judges to meet and talk about some great candidates. In some categories, there were very fine margins between the winners and those shortlisted. Indeed, many who did not make the finalist list only missed out by a whisker. We received a record number of entries across the categories, which is testament to the importance that SQPs place on these industry awards.

“I am delighted that Lewis Business Media and OvertheCounter are able to bring you the National SQP Awards. The event on November 7 will be a chance to celebrate the role of the UK’s SQPs, at the same time as recognising best practice.”

Shortlist for the National SQP Awards 2019

Companion Animal SQP of the Year – sponsored by Frontline
Nikki Harris, TFM Countrystore
Dawn Prime, Wherry Vets

Equine SQP of the Year
Kristy Hodgson, Westgate Laboratories
Sandy Robertson, Equine Endo

Farm SQP of the Year – sponsored by Zoetis
Sarah Brooks, Wynnstay Group
Lynette Wilcox, Mole Country Stores

Independent Store of the Year – sponsored by Chanelle Animal Health
TFM Countrystore, Whisby
WE Jameson & Son, Masham

Mastermind Award – sponsored by Harper Adams University
Michael Maddison, Pets at Home
Andrew Pattison, RM Jones

Multiple Store of the Year – sponsored by Chanelle Animal Health
CCF, Tregaron
Wynnstay Group, Llanfair Caereinion

Newly Qualified SQP of the Year – sponsored by Animax
Owen Aspinall, Wynnstay Group
Charlotte Forkes-Rees, Mole Country Stores

Nutritional Expertise Award – sponsored by Bimeda
Sarah Sparke, J S Hubbuck
Lauren Yates, Pets at Home

Outstanding Customer Service Award – sponsored by MSD Animal Health
Bob Carruthers, Murray Farm Care
Gillian Smeaton, East of Scotland Farmers

Store Manager of the Year
Elizabeth Barrett, Mole Country Stores
Stella Kendall, Pets at Home
Stefanie Willey, Mole Country Stores

Trade Supplier of the Year
Boehringer Ingelheim

Veterinary Practice SQP of the Year
Dawn Prime, Wherry Vets
Laura Smith, Vale Veterinary Group

At the awards lunch, the National SQP of the Year will be announced. Sponsored by Boehringer Animal Health, the National SQP of the Year is selected from the winners of the companion, equine, farm and veterinary categories. We will also announce the winner of the Outstanding Contribution to the Industry Award.

Pic caption:
Clockwise from bottom left: John Lewis, chairman, Lewis Business Media; Stephen Dawson, secretary general, AMTRA; Hefin Rowlands, National SQP of the Year 2018; Phil Sketchley, chairman, AMTRA; AHDA secretary general Bryan Lovegrove; and Simon King, editor, OvertheCounter

Get Our E-Newsletter - breaking news to your in-box once a week
Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy